As Cool As A Fruitstand

…and maybe as strange. A movie blog.

Stardust

Posted by Hedwig on January 19, 2008

I know, I know, there are so many masterpieces I still have to watch, so many potential 2007 top 10 contenders to catch up with… and yet I watched this piece of fluff. In my defense, I intended to watch Atonement, but suddenly remembered that my mom still wanted to see that with me in the cinema sometime soon. But yeah. I could have watched Rescue Dawn. I could have watched Half Nelson. I could have watched one of the dozen DVD’s I have but haven’t watched yet. Instead, I watched this little fairytale.

I won’t go so far as to say I loved it. And it’s definitely not a film to watch over and over again like its obvious forebear, The Princess Bride. But it charmed the pants off of me, from the fact that the princes have literally blue blood to the wink DeNiro’s Captain Shakespeare gives Tristan’s fey rival Humphrey at the end. And let’s not forget Charlie Cox. In the beginning I found myself wishing Tristan had been played by the guy who plays the younger version of his father, instead, but my doubts were soon dispelled.

I loved the greek choir formed by the dead princes. And most of all, I loved that there’s sex in it. Oh, don’t get me wrong, you can safely let small kids watch this, there is no nudity in sight – although the appreciative “mmm” Michelle Pfeiffer lets out watching herself in the mirror is priceless. But the movie doesn’t try to pretend Tristan came from a kiss: it’s clear that he was born nine months after his mother invited her father into the cart. And when love is finally declared between Tristan and his true love, it’s clear that they don’t stick to kissing, either.

All in all, 2007 was a really great movie for children’s movies that don’t talk down to kids, yet don’t have (too many) in-jokes for the parents that would be incomprehensible to anyone under, say, ten: Ratatouille, Enchanted, and Stardust. Movies that I would have absolutely loved when I was that age. And movies I can still thoroughly enjoy now.

One Response to “Stardust”

  1. Daniel said

    I’ve yet to hear of someone not liking Stardust on first viewing. I think most people are embarrassed to say so, but it is pretty fun, and it definitely has the nostalgic flavor you allude to.

Leave a Reply

 
