As Cool As A Fruitstand

…and maybe as strange. A movie blog.

The IFFR

Posted by Hedwig on January 25, 2008

The festival has begun. So far, I’ve seen 4 movies, slept barely 6 hours, and I’m preparing myself for today’s program. Tomorrow’s my most anticipated day already, with Juno, The Man From London, and Persepolis, but today I already get to see Paranoid Park. For those of you who can read Dutch, you can keep up with my adventures (and those of fellow iffr-visitors Kaj and Thijs) here. For the others, I’m afraid I can’t do more than post a snippet every once in a while, a stray observation, a tally. Right now, the only one that occurs to me is that is was really, really cold last night, and that I need to buy some deodorant because I forgot to pack it.

The tally so far? I disliked one film, liked two despite their obvious flaws, and liked one reasonably well. I’m hoping the truly good movies are just around the corner.

2 Responses to “The IFFR”

  1. Sabrine said

    Sounds like you’re having fun 🙂 I watched Juno yesterday, and I liked it. Don’t see what all the fuss is about though. I found it obviously better than the standard teen comedy, also suited for less teeny people and the dialogues are sharp (reminds me of Gilmore Girls in the early days) and funny and come out naturally (not studied as often is the case in films). But so this is a very very very good film? I just found it nice and well made…

    Sabrine

  2. Hope you’re having a blast Hedwig.

    I also hope you’ll have the time just to give us English speakers a quick rundown of what’s good and what’s bad. No pressure though, I know you’re busy.

Leave a Reply

 
