As Cool As A Fruitstand

…and maybe as strange. A movie blog.

Catching up with 2007: Shoot ’em up & Gone Baby Gone

Posted by Hedwig on February 17, 2008

Shoot ’em up

Is exaggeration inherently funny? Your answer to that question probably determines in large part whether Shoot ’em up, in which Clive Owen literally shoots over a hundred ‘them’s up, will work for you. Me? Exaggeration is one of my favorite tricks, and I had fun with the movie.It did become rather repetitive in the end, and I could have done without Monica Belluci the italian lactating hooker. Interestingly enough, Clive Owen plays it straight, and so does Paul Giamatti: his character overacts, but Giamatti resists the urge to winkat us. I’m not entirely certain it was the right decision, and I can’t really recommend the film, but I’m not sorry I watched it – possibly the weakest positive judgment you can give a movie, but there you have it.

Gone Baby Gone

In this assured debut from Ben Aflleck, it was mostly his brother who impressed me – though I wouldn’t mind if he articulated a smidgen more. The story twisted and turned more than I expected, all the way to an ending that leaves you uncertain about how to feel. It isn’t sad, perse, but uplifting isn’t it, either. I understand the fuss about Amy Ryan, but still think Cate Blanchett deserves the top prize. The biggest achievement of this film is in how it captures a certain mood in a certain place, and while I wouldn’t call it a masterpiece or even original, it’s worth two hours of your time.

5 Responses to “Catching up with 2007: Shoot ’em up & Gone Baby Gone”

  1. Nick Plowman said

    Oh my word, your thoughts on Gone Baby Gone match mine in my review almost exactly. The ending leaves you at a dead end. “What would I have done if I were in that situation?” is something I tried to ask myself, I cannot come up with an answer. I really enjoyed it though, it was a good movie, a little restricted and careful (in my opinion), but I would recommend it easily.

  2. Merijn said

    I think Shoot Em Up is mostly a simple guy’s movie, in that ‘OH MY GOD DID YOU JUST THAT HOW COOL WAS THAT’ way.

  3. Nick Plowman said

    I thought as much, and therefore I skipped it.

  4. sarcastig said

    Hm, I actually see it more as a parody, kind of mocking the dumb action movie while embracing it at the same time. It takes things so far over the top it’s kind of hard to take seriously, and even the cool stuff is clearly meant with at least a soupçon of irony: I don’t think carrots generally qualify as killer objects – except in Looney Tunes cartoons, of course, which are referred to at least once.

  5. The trailer hints at irony ever so slightly, and I would expect it to have something a little extra than you average action flick – I cannot see Clive Owen or Paul Giamatti making a run-of-the-mill action film at this point in their careers. That’s just me though.

Leave a Reply

 
