As Cool As A Fruitstand

…and maybe as strange. A movie blog.

Music & Muriels

Posted by Hedwig on February 19, 2008

2007 was an amazing year for music in movies, so much so I almost made a top 10 musical moments. I mean, think about it: there was a wonderful, unconventional little musical (Once), one movie based on a great musical artist featuring both originals and covers (I’m Not There), one conventional biopic of a great band (Control), two notorious compilers with eclectic taste delivering two soundtracks as great as we’ve come to expect from them (The Darjeeling Limited & Death Proof), some great instrumental scores (most notably the one by Nick Cave & Warren Ellis for The Assassination of Jesse James by the coward Robert Ford, but I really like the Atonement score, with its incorporated typewriter sounds, as well), one movie with great blues numbers (Black Snake Moan), and last but not least, who can forget Spider-Pig?

Even the Juno soundtrack, while in my mind wrong for the movie, had some great songs on it, and while I thought Gus van Sant’s use of Elliot Smith songs for Paranoid Park was to me evidence that he was looking back rather than forward, there was some very interesting, atmospheric, electronic music in that movie too.

The Muriels also have a category for soundtracks, and I’m very glad Paul is much more inclusive than Oscar. Check out the results here. Other categories recently announced: best Ensemble (a very worthy winner) & best Body of Work (a winner I can’t really disagree with either). My own nominations are after the jump.

Best Body of Work

  1. Roger Deakins (Assassination & No Country)
  2. Garret Dillahunt (Assassination & No Country)
  3. Christian Bale (3:10 to Yuma & I’m Not There)
  4. Tony Gilroy (wrote Bourne 3 & directed Michael Clayton)
  5. Michael Cera (Juno & Superbad)

Best Ensemble

  1. No Country For Old Men (with the exception of Beth Grant)
  2. I’m Not There
  3. Juno
  4. The Assassination of Jesse James by the Coward Robert Ford
  5. Hairspray (yeah, I might not have thought that one through…not that it’s bad, but there are worthier contenders)

Best Music

  1. Once
  2. I’m Not There
  3. Atonement
  4. The Assassination of Jesse James by the Coward Robert Ford
  5. The Darjeeling Limited
7 Responses to “Music & Muriels”

  1. I LOVE your picks for Best Music…in fact all three categories.

  2. sarcastig said

    Awh, thanks. I do love flattery 😉

  3. Kaj said

    Heh… You’ve got Bale in your list, but not even his standout performance! Strikes me as funny. I really like your inclusion of Deakins, Dillahunt & Cera. Though I’ll never understand the love for Gilroy and Michael Clayton this year, I suppose.

    I like your music picks as well. I made a list myself late last year, based on what was released in The Netherlands in 2007. So no Bob Dylan, or either of the Andersons (which I’ve both been listening to a lot in the past weeks). The whole list with Dutch commentary can be found here:
    http://www.filmtotaal.nl/forum/viewtopic.php?p=391525#391525

    But for those of us who can’t read Dutch or don’t care about my commentary, this is the list (of course, it goes to eleven) in short, without commentary:

    1. Nick Cave & Warren Ellis – The Assassination Of Jesse James By The Coward Robert Ford
    2. Dario Marianelli – Atonement
    3. Robert Rodriguez et al – Grindhouse
    4. Howard Shore – Eastern Promises
    5. Ry Cooder et al – My Blueberry Nights
    6. Michael Giaccino – Ratatouille
    7. David Shire et al – Zodiac
    8. Samuel L. Jackson et al – Black Snake Moan
    9. Tenacious D. – Tenacious D. in: the Pick of Destiny
    10. VA – American Gangster
    11. Glen Hansard & Markéta Irglová – Once

  4. sarcastig said

    Which other role by Bale do you mean? I went by American release dates, and those were his only 2007 titles. I’m assuming you’re referring to Rescue Dawn (and not The Prestige) but whichever it was, both are 2006 titles. Also, added to that, I have yet to get around to the former. As for the latter, I’ll admit to being distracted by the lead men’s gorgeousness, and not paying that much attention to the performance.

  5. Kaj said

    I was referring to Rescue Dawn, which technically is a 2006 film but didn’t get any release anywhere until 2007. It was screened at Toronto 2006, though, and in Austin & Denver festivals late 2006. But even in the US it wasn’t released until july last year. It’s still being released in some countries: tomorrow, it premieres in Russia.

  6. Great picks Hedwig. I kind of blew it on my music picks. I should’ve included Ratatouille.

    Oh well.

  7. Nick Plowman said

    Flattery to those who deserve it is no trouble at all.

    For me, the year’s best scores were TWBB, Atonement, Ratatouille, Jesse James, The Kite Runner, Away From Her…

    Best music (like soundtrack) would go to Once, Juno, Across The Universe, The Darjeeling LTD, to name a few.

Leave a Reply

 
