As Cool As A Fruitstand

…and maybe as strange. A movie blog.

Blogging Buffy – Wrapping up Season 1

Posted by Hedwig on March 29, 2008

Season 1 had Buffy (the series, as well as the character) finding its/her footing, bit by bit. The show at this point is still pretty much monster-of-the-week, but what’s admirable is how consistent and tangible the Buffy-verse itself already is. Pretty much everything can happen, but the world these characters live in is not without rules, and fairly consistent – which is more than can be said for many new shows, which undermine their own mythology at every turn. Also, characters who will play a part later (Harmony, Amy, Ms. Calendar) are set up in a natural, unobtrusive way, so that they don’t just appear out of this air later. Then: episode by episode.

1.09 The Puppet Show

“I know Principal Flutie would have said, “Kids need understanding. Kids are human beings.” That’s the kind of wooly-headed liberal thinking that leads to being eaten.” Principal Snyder

Ah, puppets. Immediate creep factor guaranteed. And Whedon manages to really keep us on out toes about whether the puppet is a) as inanimate as he looks, b) evil. Otherwise, however, it’s not en episode much can be said about…

1.10 Nightmares

… unlike this one, which despite a relative lack of good quotes is much more interesting. For instance, of all the nightmares (spiders, huge bugs, suddenly being almost naked, and of course for Cordelia terrible, frizzy hair), the scariest one by far is Buffy’s. No, not the one where she suddenly has a test. Not the one where she’s killed. Not the one where she’s buried alive, or even the one where she turns into a vampire. No, the most gut-wrenching nightmare is the one where her dad tells her that yes, she’s to blame for her parents’ divorce. And really, he doesn’t like her all that much.

It would have had more impact if dad had appeared before, but still, Whedon touches on the biggest fear of many teens. All too often in show about teenagers, parents are marginal figures, who don’t understand their kids and are often depicted as slightly ridiculous. And that’s often how kids themselves see their parents. But that doesn’t mean they’re not scared to death of disappointing, and of not being loved.

1.11 Out of Mind, Out of Sight

“Hey! You think I’m never lonely because I’m so cute and popular? I can be surrounded by people and be completely alone. It’s not like any of them really know me. I don’t even know if they like me half the time. People just want to be in a popular zone. Sometimes when I talk, everyone’s so busy agreeing with me, they don’t hear a word I say.” Cordelia

Ah, the invisible girl. I have to admit, especially when I was 11, 12, being invisible didn’t sound that bad. In that time, it beat getting noticed. But the concept – a girl become invisible because nobody ever seems to see her – is interesting, even if (logicall) the girl it happens to isn’t particularly. Also, this episode marks the start of Cordelia’s rehabilitation as a character. Oh, she’s still the shallow, egocentric popular girl. But the first hints are given that there might be a little bit more to her.

1.12 Prophecy Girl

“I don’t care. Giles, I’m sixteen years old. I don’t wanna die. ” Buffy

Since the Master was absent most of the show, and even from the episode before this, the conclusion to his arc feels very rushed, and a bit anticlimactic. I know, I know, Buffy dies…but even that doesn’t feel so dramatic, and the presentation of CPR as kind of a miracle drug is a bit unrealistic – in as much as you can use that word in a show about vampires and demons. The dress is quite awesome, I’ll agree to that. And the first season being over and done with, the road was paved for the greatness of season 2.

“We saved the world. I say we party!” Buffy

5 Responses to “Blogging Buffy – Wrapping up Season 1”

  1. What I said earlier about the show being a little sketchy in the first season…I’d forgotten how much it picks up towards the end.

    Jeez, you’re making me want to go back and watch these all over again. Willow just isn’t the same on her new sitcom…

    Ok, that’s more than a little creepy I still refert to Alyson Hannigan as Willow…

  2. Kaj said

    The earth is doomed.

  3. “Jeez, you’re making me want to go back and watch these all over again”

    Same here!

  4. sarcastig said

    Hey, sorry Nick, seems your comment got stuck in moderation. Since it mostly catches real spam of late, it took me a while to notice.

    But yeah…Rewatching Buffy is something I can definitely recommend.

  5. Kaj said

    I second that.

Leave a Reply

 
