As Cool As A Fruitstand

…and maybe as strange. A movie blog.

Watching Movies with My Dad pt. 3

Posted by Hedwig on June 26, 2008

The movie: Annie Hall (Woody Allen, 1977)

The pitchable element: no need for one. My dad saw this in the cinema when it came out, loved it, and hadn’t seen it since.

The length: 93 minutes including credits

The verdict: comedies should not be watched alone. As to any rule, there are of course exceptions, but my -purely anecdotal- evidence is this: I liked Annie Hall the first time I watched it, by myself. I liked it a lot, in fact, enough to buy it, and I thought it was very, very funny. But I don’t remember laughing out loud.

With my dad, however, I laughed out loud several times, even at the most predictable jokes (like Alvy sneezing the coke away, for instance). Somehow, by myself, I could appreciate the humor but I wasn’t really able to ENJOY it. But now, watching it again, this time in good company, I enjoyed it immensely. The one-liners are funny, the tricks that break the fourth wall work, and Diane Keaton is glorious (why is she stuck in all these crappy rom-coms nowadays?)

That, and of course the following quote is probably one of the truest things anyone has ever said about relationships:

I thought of that old joke, y’know, the, this… this guy goes to a psychiatrist and says, “Doc, uh, my brother’s crazy; he thinks he’s a chicken.” And, uh, the doctor says, “Well, why don’t you turn him in?” The guy says, “I would, but I need the eggs.” Well, I guess that’s pretty much now how I feel about relationships; y’know, they’re totally irrational, and crazy, and absurd, and… but, uh, I guess we keep goin’ through it because, uh, most of us… need the eggs. Alvy Singer

3 Responses to “Watching Movies with My Dad pt. 3”

  1. Annie Hall, one of the all-time great films, bar none.

    Seeing this with my folks when I was younger, and more recently with the girlfriend is terrific. And I agree, it’s one of the truest films ever about relationships, rivaled only in the Allen canon by Manhattan and (for older ones) Husbands and Wives. This is still his best, though, so I can sort of understand why he at least partly resents it.

  2. Kaj said

    I’m not so sure if comedies always benefit from company. The wrong company or mood they create can completely ruin it as well. I have a big, bellowing laugh, and when I’m watching something funny with people that only softly snicker, I enjoy it less that if people are laughing out loud with me. And if I’m the only one that thinks a movie is hilarious, while the rest of the room remains silent, it get’s awkward real fast. Add the fact that I have no problem whatsoever with laughing out loud when I’m on my own, and I have to conclude that no, comedies should not by definition be watched with others. Of course, if they do enjoy it as much or a little more than me, it definitely adds to the experience. And Annie Hall is a safe bet when it comes to that.

  3. You know, I’d never thought about watching comedies alone before, but you’re largely right. For me it doesn’t apply with the Coens. I’ll laugh out loud to myself just thinking about some of their movies. But then I’m a little weird that way.

Leave a Reply

 
