As Cool As A Fruitstand

…and maybe as strange. A movie blog.

Dr. Horrible

Posted by Hedwig on July 16, 2008

I know: I’ve been a bad, bad blogger. I can’t quite explain why, nor can I promise it will get better soon, so let’s just get on to more urgent business.

Go see the first installment of Dr. Horrible. Now.

I never bought the “Joss Whedon is my Master Now” T-shirt (written in Star Wars font, of course), but now I think I’ll definitely have to. Rewatching Buffy reminded me of how great that show was, I still love Firefly, and now there this: Dr. Horrible’s Sing-Along blog, and well…

Remember how I mentioned in my recent post on Annie Hall are better watched in company? Well, I know I’ll show this to many people for as long as it’s watchable online (only until the 20th, so hurry!), but even watching it by myself, I was making all kinds of strange noises, hiccuping, snortling, whinnying like Bad Horse, even.

Neil Patrick Harris, one of the funniest actors working today? It’s a bold statement, but it might be true. He’s one of the best things in Harold & Kumar (playing “himself”, within huge quotemarks), he’s consistently hilarious as Barney on How I Met Your Mother, and now this. Dr. Horrible, who is, despite -or maybe because- of the name, totally adorable, as the lovely people at the Vulture blog put it. And funny, did I mention funny?

Then of course, there’s his arch-nemesis, Captain Hammer, played by none-other than Cap’n Tight Pants himself, Nathan Fillion. There’s the surprisingly catchy songs (I’m humming “a man’s gotta do what a man’s gotta do?” right now).

But what am I blathering on about? Just go see it, now. Or I’ll break out the Wonderflonium.

3 Responses to “Dr. Horrible”

  1. I tried watching this earlier today, but the site was down. It was worth the wait.

    “It’s curtains for you Dr. Horrible. Lacy, gently wafting curtains.” Hahahah

  2. Kaj said

    Those singing cowboys could really just’ve came from an unfilmed Monty Python sketch. Wonderful.

  3. Daniel said

    All of I’ve heard are a few clips – and insane praise. This might be one cultural trend I can be a part of from the start!

Leave a Reply

 
