As Cool As A Fruitstand

…and maybe as strange. A movie blog.

Testing, testing: Podcasting, ep. 0

Posted by Hedwig on September 11, 2008

Being on the radio has always been a dream of mine. I don’t know why (radio isn’t a very glamorous medium, and its death has been predicted every once in a while for decades), but I liked the idea of sitting in a booth, your voice going out, live, to all those unknown people sitting in their cars, houses, etc.

I’ve been considering trying my hand at podcasting for some time, and now that I’ve gotten my very own tech-savvy at-risk youth (aka. my lovely, geeky boyfriend), I finally took the leap. This one is just a prototype, 2,5 minutes of me babbling about my controversial Wanted review on filmtotaal.nl, but I’d like to start in earnest soon.

Weirdly enough I felt a bit nervous, talking to myself. It’s strange, since I work as a tour guide on the tour boats in the city, speaking sometimes before 80 people, and I’m never nervous about that. But there, nothing is recorded, nothing can be listened to again and again and again until you notice every annoying inflection, every verbal tic, every mistake.

Apparently, you can only upload audio files on WordPress if you get a storage space upgrade. I might do that soon, but for now, the file can be found here. I still need to figure out many of the details (how to find legal music and insert it, how to allow for a subscription on iTunes etc.), but at least the first step has been made.

Let me know what you think!

9 Responses to “Testing, testing: Podcasting, ep. 0”

  1. Kaj said

    It sounds like you’re either breathing into the mic, or just holding your mouth to close to it. But I’m no expert, and I’m sure you’re already aware of this, as you are of the slight volume changes in your voice. You dohave a pleasant ‘radio voice’, real easy to listen to.

    I understand your anxiety. I once recorded a song, of which the instrumental part had been recorded separately a long time before I touched the microphone and without me present. But then you’re still working with more than just the sound of your own voice (the song was horrible, by the way). I myself have trouble with leaving a message on an answering machine, it’s just weird to talk to nothing like that.

  2. sarcastig said

    Well, it wasn’t really a mic, but a headset. I suppose I could take it off, put it further from my mouth.

    Thanks for the feedback!

  3. Why, Hedwig, your voice is lovely. There’s no harshness to it at all. Also, I was excited before listening to hear your exotic Netherlands accent and then… well, you sound like you could be my next door neighbor. I had one friend years ago in college from the Netherlands and his accent was quite pronounced so I think I was expecting the same.

    Anyway, you’ll figure out the mic stuff. I’ve done a lot of recording (though none for Cinema Styles) for short films, narration and even some commercial work (I have that Don La Fontaine kind of a voice) and when recording there is always a buffer pad in front of the mic. You can see them in any doc of someone recording a song or voiceover. It’s there to block the pronounced “p” sounds and such while allowing the volume to come through loud and clear. Of course, that would seem difficult to do with a head set but I suppose you could just lower the mic a bit.

    Anyway, again, lovely voice really. I’m quite impressed and look forward to hearing more.

  4. sarcastig said

    I got an actual microphone from my dad (he has a tendency to buy stuff he thinks he’ll need and then never use it), so I’ll make another try soon!

    And thanks for the compliment, Jonathan 🙂 And is there anywhere I can hear yours? The comparison to the late Don La Fontaine intrigues me.

  5. Well, my everyday speech doesn’t sound like him, but when I put on my “narrator” voice it’s pretty close. As for my own recordings, I must for now, remain a man of mystery.

  6. Wow. great voice!

  7. Wow, that is one mellifluously beautiful voice you have there, Hedwig. Lovely and soothing, actually.

    I would charge Wanted with being an idiotically immoral film as well, so that doesn’t hurt. 🙂

  8. You really do have a great, great voice, it was so awesome listening to you, even if it was just a test…and in that case, you passed with flying colours as far as I am concerned. Look forward to more of this podcasting in the future 🙂

  9. Daniel said

    I concur with all – sounds great!

Leave a Reply

 
