As Cool As A Fruitstand

…and maybe as strange. A movie blog.

Starship Troopers

Posted by Hedwig on October 21, 2008

Seriously: how could anyone miss this was meant as satire? 14-year-old boys who think that Fight Club‘s message is that punching each other is cool, that I can still kind of understand. But this movie’s so out there that it’s impossible to imagine anyone taking it at face value. It’s pulp at its best. 

So yes, I found it enjoyable. Highly enjoyable. Good, however? That I’m not sure of. It’s glossy, shallow look, and the corniness of the lines: of course it’s all fully intentional. But it does make for a rather empty viewing experience: you think “whoa, cool!” and “ew, gross!” on a regular basis, but the romantic drama gets very tiresome after a while, and killing off so many main characters isn’t brave if your audience gets no reason to care for them.

 

 

Ok, I’m sure there’s more to say, but since I can’t think of anything, I’ll leave that to you – it’s not that I’m suffering from writer’s block, really, but more that lately I can’t think of anything interesting to say. Also: I’ll be interviewing Laurent Cantet, director of Entre Les Murs/The Class, this Friday, and suggestions for questions are very welcome, since what I’ve been coming up with so far can’t exactly be called original.

One Response to “Starship Troopers”

  1. Ibetolis said

    Yep, it’s that sort of film. It’s so ‘in yer face’ that it can become tiresome. Although I admit I can’t help but watch it whenever it’s on TV, it’s like a watching a accident, you know it’s wrong but you can’t help looking.

    I’m really look forward to that interview on Friday, I’ve been looking forward to watching The Class ever since it won at Cannes.

    Can’t think of any questions though, I’m rubbish at that sort of thing.

Leave a Reply

 
