As Cool As A Fruitstand

…and maybe as strange. A movie blog.

My week in Pop Culture – Week 21

Posted by Hedwig on May 27, 2012

It was yet another week heavier on social activities than on pop culture. I did read quite a bit: Swamplandia!, reviewed here, some of the short stories that make up the back half of I Am Legend, the beginning of Burrough’s first Tarzan book, and I finally progressed further with Cosmopolis, because it turns out I’m going to the press screening on Wednesday.

The only movies I saw were re-watches: MIDNIGHT IN PARIS, which was just as bubbly and fun as the first time around (with the exception of the segment with the earrings), and the second half of the director’s cut of KINGDOM OF HEAVEN. We’d watched the first half several weeks ago, but while the director’s cut is better than the theatrical one, it is also really, really long.

The movie actually illustrates quite well how harmful general Hollywood wisdom can be. Like the rule that you should have a hero at the center: Orlando Bloom’s overly noble knight is the weakest point of the movie. Maybe GAME OF THRONES will change this, showing that a story can be appealing without a clear point of identification, and without a single character that can be called 100% good. The story of Salahadin is fascinating, and the wry view of the unending cycle of religiously-motivated violenceRidley Scott brings to the story is welcome, but having Bloom at the center makes everything seem sentimental, and, well, cheap. I mean, dude seriously looks at a sapling after coming back to his home!

More Ridley in the coming week: I’m seeing PROMETHEUS next Thursday, and I’m going to try to make time for MOONRISE KINGDOM, too.

2 Responses to “My week in Pop Culture – Week 21”

  1. Lanja said

    OMG, Kingdom of Heaven! Brilliant memories! The Medieval Studies Student Association went as a group and snickered and moaned through the entire running time. I’m intrigued by your comment that the director’s cut is better than the theatrical one – would it change my opinion that Orlando Bloom cannot carry a movie as a leading man? Or am I laying too much blame at his feet, when in truth I should be faulting the director or script?

    Sorry for the vacuous comment 😉 I’m apparently feeling really verbose these days.

  2. Hedwig said

    Hey!

    Your not-vacuous-at-all comments are always welcome, as you know 🙂

    The director’s cut of KoH still suffers from a Bloom overload (I totally agree that he cannot carry a movie – was great as sniveling Paris in TROY though), but I do think it’s better than the theatrical cut. Lots of medievalism!

Leave a Reply

 
