As Cool As A Fruitstand

…and maybe as strange. A movie blog.

The Oscar circus – UPDATED

Posted by Hedwig on January 21, 2008

Evil, evil Craig has lured me into the Oscar game. I figured I might as well post my predictions for all the main categories here, too. I’ll update tomorrow afternoon when it will have become obvious how misguided and wrong I was.

Best Picture (4/5 correct)

  • No Country For Old Men
  • Juno
  • There Will Be Blood
  • The Diving Bell and the Butterfly
  • Atonement
  • I missed: Michael Clayton

Best Director (3/5)

  • Joel & Ethan Coen
  • P.T. Anderson
  • Sydney Lumet
  • Julian Schnabel
  • Sean Penn
  • Instead: Reitman, Gilroy

Best Actor (4/5)

  • Daniel Day-Lewis
  • George Clooney
  • Johnny Depp
  • Frank Langella
  • Viggo Mortensen
  • Tommy-Lee Jones

Best Actress (4/5)

  • Ellen Page
  • Julie Christie
  • Marion Cotillard
  • Angelina Jolie
  • Cate Blanchett
  • Laura Linney

Best Supporting Actor (4/5)

  • Javier Bardem
  • Philip Seymour Hoffman
  • Casey Affleck (even if that’s a LEAD performance, IMHO)
  • Robert Downey Jr.
  • Tom Wilkinson
  • Hal Holbrook

Best Supporting Actress (3/5)

  • Cate Blanchett
  • Amy Ryan
  • Marisa Tomei (for ‘being brave’, aka showing her tits)
  • Kelly McDonald (I have hope, dammit)
  • Ruby Dee
  • Saoirse Ronan
  • Tilda Swinton

Best Original Screenplay (3/5)

  • Juno
  • Ratatouille
  • Michael Clayton
  • Eastern Promises (though I think the script is the weakest thing about that film)
  • Before the Devil Knows You’re Dead
  • Lars and the Real Girl
  • The Savages

Best Adapted Screenplay (3/5)

  • There Will Be Blood
  • No Country for Old Men
  • Into the Wild
  • The Assassination of Jesse James by the Coward Robert Ford
  • Atonement
  • Away From Her
  • Diving Bell and the Butterfly

Best Cinematography (4/5)

  • Roger Deakins (No Country)
  • Roger Deakins (Assassination)
  • Harris Savides (Zodiac)
  • Janusz Kaminski (Diving Bell)
  • Robert Elswit (There Will Be Blood)
  • Seamus McGarvey (Atonement): I should have known they’d go for the flashy tracking shot.

Overall: glad Viggo got noted, and I can’t begrudge Tommy Lee Jones the nod either, if only as a substitute for not getting nominated for No Country. A bit disappointed that neither Robert Downey Jr. nor Kelly McDonald got nominated, but I’m thrilled that Roger Deakins got nominated twice. Now let’s just hope that doesn’t split the vote for him.

Also, I got 32/45 correct, and didn’t predict a single category exactly. Not exactly stellar. I hope I’ll have better luck predicting the winners.

    3 Responses to “The Oscar circus – UPDATED”

    1. I’ll spare you the “You can’t stop what’s coming” line for NCfOM because I’ve already been mocked for overusing it…but the point is well taken. You can’t. You can either grit your teeth and ignore it, or you can play along and try and have some fun. This year I’m trying the latter.

      I don’t take any of it very seriously (though I do hope some of my favorites get nominations and eventually win), but it gets everyone talking about movies and that’s a good thing.

    2. sarcastig said

      Hehe, I complain too much about the Oscars, anyway. Especially since this year, it seems like they might actually single out some worthy contenders. In such an incredibly strong year for movies, even Oscar can’t be as misguided as usual.

      I guess we’ll know tomorrow 🙂

    3. Nick Plowman said

      I love the Oscars, but last year I was so disappointed. I hope that this year they will actually be broadcast because the nominees – for the most part – are great, in my opinion.

      Predicting the winners is easier, the nominees are always harder, but it is fun and the effort put into yours is commendable.

      I love your No Guts No Glory picks for Downey Jr., Zodiac and Before The Devil Knows You’re Dead, this year there were so many good films, too bad they can’ all be recognized. I wish the studio had pushed harder for Zodiac, I think the quality was there but the early release date and lack of studio support was a slap in the face of an amazing film.

    Leave a comment